Governor Nathan Deal issued the following statement at 3:00 p.m Wednesday:

BREAKING: Acting on a recommendation from the state’s Emergency Operations Command in anticipation of Hurricane Irma, I’ve issued a state of emergency for six coastal counties. This emergency declaration includes Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh Counties.

This executive order prohibits price gouging and waives rules and regulations for motor vehicles transporting supplies, equipment, personnel, goods and services associated with disaster assistance and relief. The state of emergency also ensures aid for the six counties potentially impacted by this catastrophic storm. We will continue monitoring Hurricane Irma’s path in the days ahead and coordinating with our federal, state and local partners. I urge Georgians in the affected counties to remain vigilant and be prepared.

Previous articleCOLUMN: Not Quite What I Had In Mind
Next articleGA Insurance Commissioner says prepare for Irma

Jessica Szilagyi is statewide contributor for All On Georgia and Market Manager for Southeast Georgia. Her main focus with All On Georgia is state and local politics as well as agriculture. She’s served as a policy analyst at the State Capitol and as a campaign manager in political races across the state.

She writes for and has two blogs of her own: ‘The Perspicacious Conservative’, a political blog, and ‘Hair Blowers to Lawn Mowers’, a blog on moving from Atlanta to rural Georgia. Jessica is also a contributor for Fox5 Atlanta’s ‘Like it Or Not.’

Leave a Reply